Fahri Emre Öztürk won MRS Fall best poster award

Graduate student Fahri Emre Öztürk won the best poster award at the Fall 2014 Materials Research Society (MRS) Meeting in Boston, USA. The annual Fall Meeting in Boston is the preeminent annual event of materials research, featuring over 50 symposia and attended by more than 6,800 researchers from every corner of the globe. 

Adem Yildirim has successfully defended his thesis

Bayindir Group member Adem Yildirim has finished his Ph.D. studies this fall. In his thesis titled ‘Nanostructured Materials for Biological Imaging and Chemical Sensing’, he presented the results of his several studies on functionalized mesoporous silica nanoparticles, their toxicity and blood compatibility, and inherent fluorescence of polydopamine nanoparticles.

Bayindir group member discusses global challenges with Nobel Laureates

Global Challenges – Opportunities for Nanotechnology, an international nanotechnology workshop organized by the Center for Nanoscience in Munich, Swiss Nanoscience Institute and ETH Zurich, was recently held on the island of Sen Servolo in Italy. Bayindir Group was represented in this prestigious event by Tural Khudiyev.

Prestigious European Research Council grant awarded to Dr. Bayindir

Professor Mehmet BAYINDIR, asistant director of UNAM and faculty member of Physics Department, has been awarded ERC Starting Grant which was created to encourage “pioneering frontier research in any field of science, engineering and scholarship.” The ERC grant of € 1.5 million is for five years. Dr. Bayindir’s proposal focuses on the development of a novel fabrication technique (top-to-bottom iterative size reduction) in nanotechnology.

Nobel laureate Dr. Rohrer visits Bayindir Group laboratories

Nobel Laureate Henrich Rohrer visited Bayindir Research Group during his weeklong visit to UNAM, Bilkent University. Researchers had the rare opportunity to present and discuss their research, and hear Dr. Rohrer’s insight on nanoscience and nanotechnology. Dr. Rohrer shared the 1986 Physics Nobel Prize, with Ernst Ruska and Gerd Binnig for the design of the scanning tunneling microscope.